JH Award

EphMRA is delighted to announce the winners of the 2018 Jack Hayhurst (JH) Award for Best Paper at Conference in June. 

Katy Irving from HRW and Yuuki Ochiai from Janssen have won the award for their outstanding paper at the conference entitled Information overload: how our biases get the best of us and the keys to being better understood, so we wish to congratulate them both on winning this highly prestigious award.

It was a very closely fought contest for 2nd and 3rd place, but EphMRA is also very pleased to announce that the runners up are Viv Farr from Narrative Health and Jonathan Lovatt-Young from Love Experience for their paper entitled Digital Transformation – It’s Persona-L . Congratulations to Viv and Jonathan - our runners up.

The 3rd place was won by Rikke Zeeburg from Coloplast for her paper entitled Uncovering the reasons behind patients not being offered optimal treatment method(s). We wish to congratulate Rikke on this achievement.

There were 9 papers eligible for the JH Award in 2018 - that is, papers which were presented by speakers which had gone through a rigorous selection process by the Programme Committee in the Autumn 2017 and Spring 2018. 

As last year, these papers were judged by members of the Programme Committee, who attended all the sessions and used a strict set of criteria to evaluate each paper.  These criteria covered the delivery of the presentation itself; the overall value provided by the paper to delegates and an overall score for the presentation.  In addition, delegates were asked to rate papers they attended and these scores, along with the post conference evaluations and the judges evaluations were all amalgamated to reach the final decision. 

There will be more information about our winners in the December EphMRA News and EphMRA would like to congratulate our winners on their achievement. 

So what is the JH Award and why is it such a revered award to win?

Jack HeyhurstTo give you some background, Jack Hayhurst worked at ICI Pharmaceuticals for many years, firstly in their Animal Health Division and then later moved to their ethical pharmaceutical arena, where his enthusiasm to encourage excellence from all agencies - whether providing data or ad hoc research - was well known. He was appointed President of EphMRA in 1976, during his period of heading ICI's Pharmaceutical research department. He was also Treasurer and the first General Secretary until he retired in 1988 and sadly passed away in 2005

In recognition of Jack’s work in the pharmaceutical market research industry, it was decided to establish the Jack Hayhurst Award and the first award was given in 1988. In particular, Jack was passionate about encouraging those who presented at EphMRA conferences to deliver innovative presentations which optimised the messages delivered to delegates and this vision still holds true today, despite the massive technological changes in how presentations are delivered!

It may seem incredible to think that in Jack’s day, he encouraged the use of clear and concise 35 mm slides rather than simply hand writing their presentations. It may seem a lifetime ago but just shows how much technology has moved on in the past 30 years! He also encouraged the use of video and enhanced the professional way EphMRA approached the Annual Conference.

Talking to previous winners of this award, it is very clear that this has become a highly treasured award, as it recognises the inspiration and striving for excellence which he brought to our industry and winning it is highly meaningful - both professionally and personally. To appear in the JH Award ‘hall of fame’ is highly sought after and we are sure that all more recent winners feel the same sense of pride and excitement that previous winners have felt.

For the full list of previous winners, please go to the EphMRA website - http://www.ephmra.org/Jack-Hayhurst-Award