Skip to the content


JH Award

2019 Winners

We are delighted to announce the winners of the JH Award 2019, as voted for by delegates and an onsite judging panel. 

Georgina Cooper and Soumya Roy from Basis Health won the award for their paper entitled The Future of Research Debriefs – Immersive, story-led outputs that inspire action.  EphMRA would like to congratulate Georgina and Soumya for delivering such an engaging and insightful presentation that provided some tangible takeaways for delegates to take back to their offices after the conference.

Georgina Cooper

Georgina Cooper

Soumya Roy

Soumya Roy

As new members of EphMRA we are delighted that their paper was so well received by delegates at the conference.  We look forward to more inspired papers over the next few years!

It was a very closely fought contest for 2nd and 3rd place, but EphMRA is also very pleased to announce that the runners up are Simon Ball from Celgene and Pamela Walker from Incite Consulting for their paper entitled Implicit insight into prescribing in relapsed refractory Multiple Myeloma. Congratulations to Simon and Pamela on being voted in 2nd place for the JH Award.

The 3rd place was won by Sam Hope from Blueprint Partnership and Lea Kalweit from Bayer for their paper entitled Rising to the challenge. Congratulations Sam and Lea on this achievement.

There were 11 papers eligible for the JH Award in 2019 - that is, papers which were presented by speakers which had gone through a rigorous selection process by the Programme Committee in the Autumn 2018 and Spring 2019. 

All eligible papers were judged by members of the Programme Committee, who attended all the sessions and used a strict set of criteria to evaluate each paper.  These criteria covered the delivery of the presentation itself; the overall value provided by the paper to delegates and an overall score for the presentation.  In addition, delegates were asked to rate papers they attended and these scores, along with the post conference evaluations and the judges evaluations were all amalgamated to reach the final decision. So, the judging process is very rigorous and robust! 

So what is the JH Award and why is it such a revered award to win?

To give you some background, Jack Hayhurst worked at ICI Pharmaceuticals for many years, firstly in their Animal Health Division and then later moved to their ethical pharmaceutical arena, where his enthusiasm to encourage excellence from all agencies - whether providing data or ad hoc research - was well known. He was appointed President of EphMRA in 1976, during his period of heading ICI's Pharmaceutical research department. He was also Treasurer and the first General Secretary until he retired in 1988 and sadly passed away in 2005

In recognition of Jack’s work in the pharmaceutical market research industry, it was decided to establish the Jack Hayhurst Award and the first award was given in 1988. In particular, Jack was passionate about encouraging those who presented at EphMRA conferences to deliver innovative presentations which optimised the messages delivered to delegates and this vision still holds true today, despite the massive technological changes in how presentations are delivered!

It may seem incredible to think that in Jack’s day, he encouraged the use of clear and concise 35 mm slides rather than simply hand writing their presentations. It may seem a lifetime ago but just shows how much technology has moved on in the past 30 years! He also encouraged the use of video and enhanced the professional way EphMRA approached the Annual Conference.

Talking to previous winners of this award, it is very clear that this has become a highly treasured award, as it recognises the inspiration and striving for excellence which he brought to our industry and winning it is highly meaningful - both professionally and personally. To appear in the JH Award ‘hall of fame’ is highly sought after and we are sure that all more recent winners feel the same sense of pride and excitement that previous winners have felt.

For the full list of previous winners, please go to the EphMRA website -

EphMRA 2021 - Antwerp - June 15 -17

Our 2021 conference will be an exciting, inspiring and engaging online event and will take place the week of 14th June, with the key dates being 15-17 June.

The latest submissions are in the final stages of evaluation and the programme will soon be ready to publish. We have some outstanding speakers this year for our online event.