JH Award

EphMRA is delighted to announce the winner of the Jack Hayhurst (JH) Award for Best Paper at Conference in June. 

Tom De Ruyck from Insites Consulting has won for his outstanding paper at the conference entitled The memification of insights, so we wish to congratulate him on winning this highly prestigious award.

"It’s an honour to receive this prestigious award.  That so many attendees liked my presentation is a sign that the industry needs to focus more of its attention on ‘activating insights’ next to generating them." Tom De Ruyck

It was a very closely fought contest for 2nd and 3rd place, so EphMRA is also very pleased to announce that we have joint runners up for this award!  Joint runners up are Nick Wain and Hannah Brown from M3 Global Research for their paper entitled Sampling – leveraging compliance to motivate response rates and build confidence in business intelligence and Thomas Laufen from Roche Pharma with Barbara Lang from Point-Blank International for their paper entitled Design thinking in the pharma world. The idea manufactory.  Congratulations to our joint winners.

There were 15 papers eligible for the JH Award in 2017 - that is, papers which were presented by speakers which had gone through a rigorous selection process by the Programme Committee in the Autumn 2016 and Spring 2017. 

This year, these papers were judged by members of the Programme Committee, who attended all the sessions and used a strict set of criteria to evaluate each paper.  These criteria covered the delivery of the presentation itself; the overall value provided by the paper to delegates and an overall score for the presentation.  In addition, delegates were asked to rate papers they attended and these scores, along with the post conference evaluations and the judges evaluations were all amalgamated to reach the final decision. 

There will be more information about our winners in the December EphMRA News and EphMRA would like to congratulate our winners on their achievement. 

So what is the JH Award and why is it such a revered award to win?

Jack HeyhurstTo give you some background, Jack Hayhurst worked at ICI Pharmaceuticals for many years, firstly in their Animal Health Division and then later moved to their ethical pharmaceutical arena, where his enthusiasm to encourage excellence from all agencies - whether providing data or ad hoc research - was well known. He was appointed President of EphMRA in 1976, during his period of heading ICI's Pharmaceutical research department. He was also Treasurer and the first General Secretary until he retired in 1988 and sadly passed away in 2005

In recognition of Jack’s work in the pharmaceutical market research industry, it was decided to establish the Jack Hayhurst Award and the first award was given in 1988. In particular, Jack was passionate about encouraging those who presented at EphMRA conferences to deliver innovative presentations which optimised the messages delivered to delegates and this vision still holds true today, despite the massive technological changes in how presentations are delivered!

It may seem incredible to think that in Jack’s day, he encouraged the use of clear and concise 35 mm slides rather than simply hand writing their presentations. It may seem a lifetime ago but just shows how much technology has moved on in the past 30 years! He also encouraged the use of video and enhanced the professional way EphMRA approached the Annual Conference.

Talking to previous winners of this award, it is very clear that this has become a highly treasured award, as it recognises the inspiration and striving for excellence which he brought to our industry and winning it is highly meaningful - both professionally and personally. To appear in the JH Award ‘hall of fame’ is highly sought after and we are sure that all more recent winners feel the same sense of pride and excitement that previous winners have felt.

For the full list of previous winners, please go to the EphMRA website - http://www.ephmra.org/Jack-Hayhurst-Award